Edo Governorship Election: INEC names candidates [ARTICLE]

The commission said in a statement on Tuesday, June 30, 2020 that 14 parties submitted names of their candidates.

Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party and Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) are the most notable names on the provisional list.

Both candidates have swapped the platforms on which they contested in the 2016 election won by Obaseki who’s confident he’ll win a second term in office.

Other candidates who will also battle for residence in the Edo Government House include Akhigbe Benjamin Ehiabi of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Ibio Lucky Emmanuel of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Lucky Osagie Idehen of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Igbineweka Osamuede of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), and Amos Osalumese Areloegbe of the Action Peoples Party (APP).

Also listed are Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah of the Labour Party (LP), Stevie Nash Ozono of the Nigeria People’s Party (NRS), Felix Ikezoe Obayangbon of the SDP, Jones Osagiobare of Young Progressive Party (YPP), and Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

35-year-old Obhafuoso Paul of the Action Alliance (AA) is the youngest candidate on the list, while Agol Ebun Tracy of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) is the only female candidate.

INEC had previously announced that a total of 15 parties would participate in the election, but the African Action Congress (AAC) and its candidate, Edith Isokpan, were curiously missing from Tuesday’s list.

The commission said it had opened a dedicated online portal for parties to submit the credentials of their candidates before 6 pm on Monday.

INEC’s spokesperson, Festus Okoye, said the particulars of the listed candidates will be published at its Edo State office and also online on Thursday, July 2.

“The final list of duly nominated candidates will be published on August 13, 2020 after withdrawals by candidates and substitution by their political parties,” Okoye said.

The Edo State governorship election will take place on September 19.


Your Nightmare!!! King Himself. Hope You Are Ready For Me!!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button